A Long Overdue Chelsea post

Looking at my stats I got more traffic with my first post about working at Chelsea than any of my other subsequent posts. This means that if I want a decent number of people to read my blog on a regular basis then I suppose I should contribute to the mountains of shite already spewed out about us day after slow news day. So then, third place in the Russian Railways Cup, a glorified collection of pre-season friendlies that are little more than a thinly-veiled excuse for each club to promote their brands in a new market. It looks like both Lampard and Drogba are staying put, which puts an incredible strain on our midfield and stops us having to spend a shitload of cash on a new and probably not as good centre-forward. Quite how we’re supposed to fit Essien, Mikel, Lampard, Ballack, Deco, Wright-Phillips, Joe Cole and Malouda into what is apparently now going to be a four-man midfield without pissing at least a couple of them off I don’t know. At least if we play a conventional 4-4-2 we can play Nicolas Anelka up front and hopefully not just rely on Lampard and Drogba to score all our goals next season. As it stands the spine is still very strong, but there appears to be a bit of dead wood which should go but we can afford to keep (so we will).

As for how we will perform, I don’t know yet. I’ve never rated Scolari as a manager, yet I never rated Grant either and we did all right last year. The players from Mourinho’s time seem to be so well-drilled and professional that it was almost irrelevent who the man in charge was – there were enough leaders on the pitch and enough very good players that made sure that the team was playing as it should be. Now with Scolari in charge things will change, he seems like the sort of boss who likes to put his own stamp on things, piss off his own set of journalists and be one of those ‘characters’ that the press pretends to hate but really can’t wait to start slobbering over. However the lack of a huge splurge and the shipping off of cumbersome lightweight Tal Ben Haim is a good sign, although I’m not convinced about Deco at all.

All in all I don’t know how I feel about the start of the new season, which is the first one since 2003 that has an element of uncertainty surrounding it. Hopefully I’ll get a ticket for the Portsmouth game, which falls when I’m back in the UK for a few days. Here’s hoping for a nice stable season, with no silly sackings or player unrest. And please Peter Kenyon, can you back up your promise that the club will be self-sufficient in five years with some action please?

3 Responses

  1. If you played Milan every week, you’d be fine.

    Why don’t you sell Malouda to your bit on the side?

  2. I don’t know. For some reason I keep thinking he’s going to come good, despite being the laziest, most cumbersome winger since Gabrielle Ambrosetti.

    It’s the centre of midfield I’m concerned about. I don’t want to see Essien dropped, but you can splite up Ballack and Lampard; they played sensationally well together towards the end of last year and I’d like to see them both start.

    Maybe Essien Lampard Ballack Cole across the midfield with Anelka and Drogba up front. Either way I have a ticket for the first home game so I can check it out for real.

  3. Malouda is threatening to become Chelsea’s version of Sergiy Rebrov.

    Without the ham radio.

Leave a Reply

